Chairman FC Ifeanyi Ubah,Dr Ifeanyi Uba ( L);  Team Captain, Elu Wilson  and Alberico Da Silva lifting the 2016 Federation Cup trophy after beating Nasarawa United 5-4 via penalty shoot out.

FC IfeanyiUbah, the self–styled Anambra Warriors, has emerged the winners of the 2016 men’s Federation Cup competition after a 5-4 penalty shoot –out defeat of Nasarawa United at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos.

Both teams battled to a 0-0 draw in regulation time at the finale watched by Nasarawa State Governor Umar Tanko Al-Makura, Sports Minister Solomon Dalung, Chairman of the Lagos State Sports Commission, Deji Tinubu and the full compliment of the Executive Committee and Management of Nigeria Football Federation led by the president, Mr. Amaju Melvin Pinnick.
In the shoot –out, Seun Sogbeso, whose goal from the penalty spot steered Nasarawa United to the final at the expense of Enyimba FC in Ibadan, saw his tame kick saved by Warriors’ goalkeeper Uche Okafor to hand the trophy to the boys from Nnewi.
In the women’s final, Rafiat Sule put Bayelsa Queens ahead but Rivers Angels equalized through a well –taken free kick by Osinachi Ohale. The Angels won the shoot –out 5-3 to emerge champions.
Deputy Governor of Nasarawa State, Hon. Silas Agara, his Rivers State counterpart Hon. Boma Iyaye and Super Eagles’ Technical Adviser Gernot Rohr were also among the dignitaries that watched Sunday’s showpiece.

• Ijeoma Nwachukwu