Super Eagles caretaker coach, Samson Siasia, has picked uncapped Fanendo Adi, Umar Aminu and Stanley Amuzie, while Victor Moses and Aaron Samuel have been recalled for this month’s African Nations Cup qualifiers against Egypt.

The 42-man squad has 22 players from the domestic league with 20 pros from abroad, reports.

Adi, 25, fired 19 goals last season for Portland Timbers to clinch a first-ever MLS championship, while Aminu has been in superlative form for Turkish Super League club Osmanlispor and Portugal-based defender Amuzie has bounced back after suffering a long-term knee injury last year.

Nigeria hosts Egypt on March 25 in Kaduna, while the return leg takes place four days later in Alexandra.

Moses is returning to the Super Eagles after more than a year away.

Samuel, who recently joined Russian club CSKA Moscow on loan from China, has also been recalled.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers/England), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United/South Africa), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars), Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers), Olufemi Thomas (Enyimba)

Defenders: Ambrose Efe (Celtic/Scotland), Shehu Abdullahi (Uniao da Madeira/Portugal), Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco/France), Stanley Amuzie (Portugal), Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor/Turkey), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa/Turkey) Orji Kalu (Enugu Rangers), Chibuzor Okonkwo (FC IfeanyiUbah), Austin Obaroakpo (Abia Warriors), Oke Ogogatewho (Warri Wolves), Sincere Seth (Supreme Court FC), Segun Oduduwa (Nath Boys), Chima Akas (Akwa United), Chris Madaki (Kano Pillars), Etim Matthew (Enugu Rangers)

Midfielders: Onazi Ogenyi (Lazio/Italy), Mikel Obi (Chelsea/England), Azubuike Okechukwu (Turkey), Ifeanyi Mathew (Kano Pillars), Usman Mohammed (Uniao da Madeira/Portugal), Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves), Stanley Dimgba (Sunshine Stars), Yau Hassan (FC Taraba)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa, Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow/Russia), Moses Simon (Gent/Belgium), Victor Moses (West Ham/England), Odion Ighalo (Watford/England), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal/England), Umar Aminu (Osmalispor/Turkey), Fenando Adi (Portland Timbers/USA), Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba), Prince Aggreh (Kano Pillars), Bright Onyedikachi (FC IfeanyiUbah), Chikatara Chisom (Wydad Casabalanca/Morocco) and Godwin Obaje (Wikki Tourists), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City/England)

  • The Nation